I write from Butterworth hospital this Monday morning to say that our daughter, Caroline Prioleau Ellis TenElshof, arrived safely on Saturday at 5:30 pm. I thought that after so much prelabor, her arrival would come quickly, and I wasn’t wrong. We began our two block walk to the hospital promptly when labor ensued, and she was born only an hour later, after about 20 minutes on the L & D ward and about 45 seconds after being wheeled into the delivery room. She made a very dramatic entrance onto the stage of our lives. I’m glad my journey to the hospital didn’t begin at my office at the University in Allendale.

Steve was amazing, advocating for me when he saw that my contractions were delivering her precipitously without my intervention (“We need an OB here, now, please!”) and asking for an oxygen mask for me when he saw my breathing taking a turn for the worse. I’m so thankful for his companionship and care for me and now for our two daughters.
We are all content and joyful. I will post pictures when we upload some.

