This morning in ENG 310, I opened class with  poem by Jane Kenyon.

Otherwise

I got out of bed

on two strong legs.

It might have been

otherwise. I ate

cereal, sweet

milk, ripe, flawless peach.  It might

have been otherwise.

I took the dog uphill

to the birch wood.

All morning I did

the work I love.

At noon I lay down

with my mate.  It might

have been otherwise.

We ate dinner together

at a table with silver

candlesticks.  It might

have been otherwise.

I slept in a bed

in a room with paintings

on the walls, and

planned another day

just like this day.

But one day, I know,

it will be otherwise.

                         (1996)

My quick thoughts at the beginning of class:

This morning I woke to the soft whine of Caroline standing at her crib rail.  I put my cheek against hers and lifted her heavy baby body against mine.  I stroked her wisps and wiped away a lone tear. 

This morning I drank cocoa and read a few pages of a novel.

At work I met with students who were bright and eager.  I was able to focus on getting to know them.

Spring break begins tomorrow.  I am feeling thankful.

